A record-breaking 27% of drivers in Florida will hit the road without car insurance in 2022. If you’re involved in an accident on the Treasure Coast caused by someone else this year, there is a 1 in 4 chance that you will be financially responsible—unless you have uninsured motorist coverage.
What is uninsured motorist coverage?
Uninsured motorist coverage helps pay for your repair costs and medical expenses when you’re involved in an accident caused by someone who does not have car insurance or does not have enough car insurance to pay for your damages.
What does uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage pay for?
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage can pay for:
- Medical bills, including emergency room visits, surgeries, treatments, prescriptions, and rehabilitation therapy
- Car repairs or replacement (and possibly a rental car)
- Lost wages if you can’t work because of the car accident
- Pain and suffering compensation
- Funeral expenses
Why do Treasure Coast drivers need uninsured motorist coverage?
Uninsured motorist coverage is one of the most important coverages you can add to your policy. While Florida does not require drivers to carry this type of coverage, it can be a lifesaver if you’re ever involved in a car accident caused by a driver who doesn’t have insurance. Here’s why:
Insurance requirements in Florida
Florida is a “No Fault” state. This means that if you are involved in a car accident, you must first go through your own personal injury protection (PIP) insurance to pay for the damages regardless of who is at fault.
All drivers in Florida are required to carry PIP insurance; however, Florida only requires drivers to carry the minimum of $10,000 in bodily injury coverage per person and $20,000 per accident. This is the lowest bodily injury minimum in the United States.
In addition, under Florida law, PIP will only cover 80% of your medical expenses. So, if you have injuries that cost $10,000, PIP will only pay for $8,000 of that.
Serious accidents can cause over $100,000 in damages
If you are seriously injured in a Treasure Coast car accident, your medical bills can easily exceed the $8,000 PIP limit. On average, serious accidents can cause over $100,000 in damages. In fact, just one night in the emergency room costs about $15,000.
If you are seriously injured in a Treasure Coast car accident caused by a driver who does not have insurance, you will have to pay out of pocket for all of your damages if you do not have uninsured motorist coverage.
How much uninsured motorist coverage should you carry?
With an increasing number of drivers on the Treasure Coast hitting the road without car insurance this year, our Treasure Coast car accident attorneys recommend increasing your uninsured motorist coverage to $100,000—or even $300,000 if possible.
Typically, you can add this coverage to your car insurance policy for a small dollar amount. But the protection it gives you can save you tens of thousands in the long run.
Contact your car insurance company today to explore your options for adding uninsured motorist coverage to your policy.
What to do if you are injured in a Treasure Coast car accident caused by an uninsured driver
Call us immediately at 866-930-6435
Car accidents happen in a terrifying instant that can leave you feeling hurt, scared, and confused about what to do next. Whether the other driver has insurance or not, one of the most important things you can do is contact the experienced Treasure Coast car accident attorneys at Hoskins, Turco, Lloyd & Lloyd immediately. The sooner you call, the sooner we can help you.
We will do everything in our power to make this difficult time as stress-free as possible, starting with a free, no-obligation consultation. With over four decades of experience, our car accident attorneys know how to settle even the most complex cases. To date, we’ve secured over $500 million for Treasure Coast accident victims.
We’re here to help you. Call 866-930-6435 now to speak with one of our local Treasure Coast car accident attorneys.