If a driver without insurance hits you in Port St. Lucie, chances are you won’t be able to recover any money for your medical bills or vehicle damages—unless you take these steps.
Unfortunately, car accidents in Port St. Lucie happen every day. But what many St. Lucie County residents don’t realize is that an alarming percentage of these accidents involve uninsured drivers.
Florida has one of the highest rates of uninsured drivers in the country. A new study found that 20 percent—or 1 out of every 5—drivers in Florida do not have car insurance. But what does this mean for accident victims?
In this article, we share what to do if an uninsured driver hits you in Port St. Lucie.
Your legal options if the at-fault party doesn’t have car insurance
If an uninsured driver hits you in Port St. Lucie, you have a few different legal options. You can file a lawsuit against the other driver or you can file a claim with your own insurance. It’s important to understand that neither option may result in you receiving compensation for your accident. Here’s why:
Can you hold an uninsured, at-fault driver financially responsible?
The State of Florida requires all drivers to carry minimum insurance of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PD/PDL). In many cases, this is not enough to cover injuries or damages sustained in a serious car accident.
However, if an uninsured driver causes your accident, you may not be able to hold the other driver financially accountable. Typically, drivers who do not have insurance do not have the economic means to pay for the damages they’ve caused. Therefore, even if you sue them, you will likely never see any money from them.
This means that if an uninsured driver rear-ends you in Port St. Lucie and totals your car, you will be financially responsible for replacing your car.
Is there anything you can do to recover compensation for your accident?
Under Florida law, you PIP and PD/PDL insurance will cover the costs for any injuries or damages that you sustain as a result of a car accident. If your medical bills and property damage exceed your PIP and PD/PDL coverage, and the other driver does not have insurance, you may be able to file a claim with your own insurance company.
However, your own insurance company will likely deny or greatly diminish your claim. They will try to avoid responsibility for paying your claims. This is when you should contact an experienced Port St. Lucie car accident attorney. He or she can file a lawsuit against your insurance company to hold them accountable for damages.
Need help with an uninsured driver accident claim in Port St. Lucie? Speak to one of our Port St. Lucie car accident attorneys now at 866-930-6435.
How can I protect myself from uninsured drivers?
Protect yourself from uninsured drivers by adding uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage to your car insurance policy. This coverage is optional, but extremely important.
If an uninsured driver hits you and you have UM coverage, you can file a claim with your own insurance company to recover damages. You will be likely be able to recover compensation for property damage, medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Without UM coverage, you could be out of luck and out-of-pocket for all your expenses.
Learn more about why you need UM coverage here.
Contact our Port St. Lucie Car Accident Attorneys today
When you are involved in an accident with a negligent uninsured driver, you and your family shouldn’t have to shoulder the burden of another party’s poor choices behind the wheel. A Port St. Lucie car accident attorney who understands Florida laws about uninsured motorists can advise you on the best course of action for your circumstances.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident with an uninsured driver in Port St. Lucie, contact Hoskins, Turco, Lloyd & Lloyd right away. Our team of local car accident attorneys will do all that wan to ensure you receive full and fair compensation.
We have offices in Port St. Lucie, Fort Pierce, Vero Beach and Okeechobee. Plus, we offer free case reviews and do not charge you anything unless we win your case.
Call 866-930-6435 to speak to our Port St. Lucie Uninsured Driver Attorneys.