Hit-And-Run Drivers Plague Florida’s Roads

In 2015 alone, there were more than 92,000 hit-and-run crashes investigated in the state of Florida. Such crashes—up by nearly 7,500 from 2014—are an increasing problem that is being met with tougher penalties.

Governor Rick Scott signed a law last year that enhances the penalties for leaving the scene of a crash, making it a second-degree felony and requiring a mandatory minimum four-year sentence for a driver convicted of leaving the scene of a fatal crash. Drivers who leave an accident could also have their license revoked for three years under the Aaron Cohen Life Protection Act. If the driver was under the influence during a fatal crash, the law increases the mandatory minimum sentence from two to four years.

Leaving the scene makes the situation worse, not only for those who flee but even more so for victims left behind. It is crucial that all individuals involved in a crash, including witnesses to a crash, contact 911 and remain at the scene until help arrives. Law enforcement officials say those involved in an accident should call law enforcement, remain calm, get vehicle witness and driver information, and help the injured.

Hit-and-run crashes on the Treasure Coast

St. Lucie County                 Indian River County                  Martin County

2012: 599                                 2012: 254                                    2012: 376

2013: 616                                 2013: 308                                    2013: 406

2014: 896                                2014: 230                                    2014: 437

2015: 985                                2015: 453                                     2015: 504

If you have been injured in a hit-and-run accident, your actions afterward will impact your ability to find the responsible party and collect the compensation you need.  If the police are able to track down and identify the party responsible for your hit-and-run injuries, you can pursue a claim with his or her insurance company, or file a lawsuit.  If the party responsible is not found, you will need to file a claim with your own insurance company.  In either event, you can consult an experienced attorney for assistance in getting the compensation to cover your damages.

You deserve to have a powerful and proven Florida Personal Injury Lawyer defending your rights. Before you speak with an insurance company, contact me for a free consultation. I will make sure that you are not bullied or rushed into making a decision, and you will not owe anything unless I win your case. Don’t delay in contacting me today at any of my four offices in Fort Pierce, Port St. Lucie, Vero Beach, and Okeechobee. Call 866-460-1990.

Verdicts and Settlements


$1.2 Million

Auto Accident Settlement

$1.6 Million

Wrongful Death Settlement

$11.1 Million

Settlement for motorcycle accident

Locations


Ft. Pierce Office
302 South Second Street
Ft. Pierce, FL 34950
Phone: (772) 464-4600
Fax: (772) 465-4747
Port St. Lucie Office
1887 S.E. Port St. Lucie Blvd.
Port St. Lucie, FL 34952
Phone: (772) 344-7770
Fax: (772) 344-3838
Okeechobee Office
402 NW 3rd Street
Okeechobee, FL 34972
Phone: (863) 357-5800
Fax: (863) 763-2237
Vero Beach Office
2101 15th Avenue
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone: (772) 794-7774
Fax: (772) 794-7773