For Port St. Lucie, Fort Pierce, Vero Beach and Okeechobee residents
Recently, we’ve heard a lot of information about car accidents that is simply not true. Believing this false information could hurt your chances of having insurance cover your expenses after an accident.
If you are involved in a car accident in Port St. Lucie, Fort Pierce, Vero Beach, or Okeechobee, it’s important to know your rights and your responsibilities. Here are the 3 car accident myths you need to stop believing—or it could cost you.
Myth #1: There’s no time limit on when you have to see a doctor after a car accident.
False. Under Florida law, you have only 14 days from the date of the accident to seek medical attention. If you do not see a doctor within 2 weeks of your accident, you forfeit your right to your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits.
This is significant because PIP benefits on average give a person up to $10,000 to cover medical bills. But if you do not have proof that you saw a doctor after your accident, PIP does not legally have to pay for your expenses. You will have to pay out of pocket.
Bottomline, regardless of whether you think you are seriously injured or not, seek medical attention after an accident. If you go within 14 days, your PIP benefits will cover the expense.
Myth #2: It’s mandatory to give the insurance company a recorded statement.
False. You are not legally required to give a recorded statement to your insurance company or the other party’s insurance company.
- Florida is a No-Fault State, which means you must first go through your own insurance to cover any car repairs or medical bills you may incur after a car accident.
- However, insurance companies—even your own—want to get away with paying you as little as possible to protect their bottom line.
- Therefore, insurance companies will pressure you to make a recorded statement soon after your accident. And in doing so, they may trick you into saying something that could excuse them from paying the full amount for your damages and injuries.
In the 40+ years we have been representing car accident victims on the Treasure Coast, we have seen many people screwed over by insurance companies “forcing” them to give recorded statements. If you are involved in a car accident in Port St. Lucie, Fort Pierce, Vero Beach, or Okeechobee, contact our office immediately before giving a statement to your insurance company.
Myth #3: Hiring a car accident attorney is expensive and makes things more complicated.
False. In Florida, you should never pay for a car accident attorney up-front or out-of-pocket. Your attorney should work on a contingency basis, meaning:
- He or she only gets paid if they win you a cash settlement;
- Their payment comes out of that cash settlement and not out of your pocket.
Plus, studies show that hiring a car accident attorney gets you 3-5x more money for your cash settlement as opposed to not hiring an attorney. Even though your attorney will take a small fee from your settlement, you will walk away with 3-5x more money than if you did it alone.
Finally, a good car accident attorney will make things simpler for you. For example, for our clients, our firm handles all of the paperwork, handles the insurance companies, helps you get into a rental car, helps you find medical care, and works to ensure you receive payment for lost wages if you miss work due to your accident.
Involved in a car accident in Port St. Lucie, Fort Pierce, Vero Beach or Okeechobee?
Know your rights. Call us immediately at 866-930-6435
If you are involved and/or injured in a car accident in Port St. Lucie, Fort Pierce, Vero Beach or Okeechobee, the best thing you can do is call our office and speak with one of our car accident attorneys. Free of charge, we will set-up an in-person or over-the-phone consultation to help you understand your rights and what your next steps should be.
The car accident attorneys at Hoskins, Turco, Lloyd & Lloyd have over 40 years of experience helping thousands of injury victims and their families recover from serious accidents on the Treasure Coast. We’re experienced, local, and on your side.
Schedule your free consultation by calling 866-930-6435