Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Vero Beach
Helping Victims and Their Families Recover after an Injury at Work in Vero Beach
A Workplace Injury Can Be Financially Devastating, but Workers’ Comp Can Help You Financially Recover
Whether you work behind a desk or in a warehouse all day, workplace injuries can happen at any time. Of course, some industries are much more prone to injuries, such as construction. Regardless of the industry, employees can become seriously injured or ill on the job, leaving them temporarily or permanently unable to work.
In these situations, workers’ compensation insurance is designed to help you recover and make sure you still have some form of income while you’re unable to work. Unfortunately, the insurance company and your employer may not provide you the full compensation you deserve. After all, the more compensation you receive, the less the insurance company makes and the higher your employer’s insurance premium rises.
If you are denied workers’ compensation or you don’t receive the full amount you believe you deserve, you do have legal options. A Vero Beach workers’ comp lawyer can help fight the insurance company to make sure you are taken care of when you are injured. At Hoskins, Turco, Lloyd & Lloyd, we have been helping members of the Vero Beach community get the full workers’ compensation they deserve.
Our attorneys always offer free, no-obligation initial consultations. If you’ve suffered an injury at work and aren’t getting the money you deserve, call our Vero Beach workers’ comp lawyers at 866-460-1990 or contact us online today.
Workers’ Compensation Requirements in Florida
Florida has certain requirements for employers when it comes to workers’ compensation. Construction companies that have at least one employee must carry workers’ comp insurance, and non-construction companies must carry the insurance if they have at least four employees. Agricultural businesses that have at least six regular employees and/or 12 seasonal workers who work 30-45 days a year must also carry workers’ comp.
Workers’ compensation insurance covers all occupational illnesses and accidental injuries that you may suffer at work. For instance, if you break your leg because you trip over a box left on the warehouse floor, you may qualify for workers’ compensation. In the same way, if you suffer from repetitive injury motions from a desk job, you may qualify for compensation.
However, you don’t have to be injured on the worksite to seek compensation. If you are driving or otherwise off the worksite while performing your job duties and you get injured, you could be covered by workers’ compensation.
Unlike some states, Florida does not cover nervous or mental injury caused by fright, stress or excitement. It also doesn’t cover “pain and suffering” that’s not otherwise covered under Florida law. Other instances where workers’ compensation may not apply include:
- Injuries that occur when you try to injure another person or yourself
- Injuries that occur to a person when they’re under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Injuries that are covered by The Jones Act
How to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim
If you get injured or suffer an illness on the job, the first step you should take is to report the injury to your supervisor as soon as possible. Waiting more than 30 days to make your report may make you ineligible to receive workers’ comp, or, at the very least, will delay your receiving your benefits.
Second, seek medical attention as soon as possible. Even if you put off reporting the injury or illness to your supervisor for a few days, waiting to seek medical attention could completely derail your ability to seek workers’ compensation. Being able to document you sought medical attention can prove your injury was actually work-related and not caused by something else.
Finally, you need to submit your workers’ comp claim with the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation. You must file your claim within 2 years of the injury or illness, but the quicker you file your claim, the sooner you can get the compensation you’re owed.
What Happens If Your Claim Is Denied?
If your claim is denied, you should be notified by the insurance company within 30 days of your filing your claim. It may make you feel better to know that many claims are initially denied. This may be because workers’ comp fraud is common, or it may be because insurance companies hope a denial will mean you won’t appeal their decision.
But a denial isn’t the end of the road. First, you will need to work with the insurance company to try to resolve the dispute informally. If that doesn’t work, you must file a Petition for Benefits with the Office of the Judges of Compensation Claims. In general, you have to file this petition within 2 years of the injury or illness, but there are some exceptions.
In some instances, the insurance company will accept the appeal and pay your workers’ comp claim. But if they don’t, you can continue your appeals process through a legal process of mediation and court trials. It’s important to speak with a Vero Beach workers’ comp attorney about how to appeal a denied claim.
Speak with a Vero Beach Workers’ Comp Lawyer Today
In some instances, your workers’ compensation claim will be accepted with little or no issue, and you will receive your settlement quickly. But in many cases, you will have to fight for some or all of the compensation you deserve. You may not get the full compensation you should based on the severity of your injury, or you may not get compensation at all.
In these instances, it’s crucial you speak with a Vero Beach workers’ comp lawyer as soon as possible. At Hoskins, Turco, Lloyd & Lloyd, we have helped injured workers get the full compensation they deserve for over 30 years. Call us at 866-460-1990 or contact us online for a free, no-obligation consultation today.
Ft. Pierce, FL 34950
Port St. Lucie, FL 34952
Okeechobee, FL 34972
Vero Beach, FL 32960